Master of None

Jack of all trades, master of none…

Many of you have probably heard this phrase. If not, it refers to a person that is competent with many a skill, but no particular one. This phrase also forms the base for a series ‘Master of None’ which follows the life of a thirty year old actor, Dev, making his way in New York City. This was the creation of Aziz Ansari and Alan Yang. Aziz Ansari is also the main character of the show.

With just ten episodes, this show addresses issues that are relevant to every single one of us. A new perspective is brought to the table in a unique and funny way each time. The reason I am writing about this is because I just finished the final episode and yes, I am aware I am late to the bandwagon but better late than never right?

I binge watched the entire series and it’s safe to say that I am a huge fan. There isn’t one particular episode that stood out to me the most because each episode had something I could relate to. Be it Dev’s behaviour towards his father in ‘Parents’, the two contrasting nights in ‘Ladies and Gentlemen’ or the different stages in Dev and Rachel’s relationship in ‘Mornings’, every little aspect resonated with me in some respect.

The thing about TV is that you begin to find little bits of yourself in what you are seeing. Or at least, you try to because you want to attach meaning to what you are viewing. But when a creator puts a situation that you can relate to down to the T even if you don’t want to admit it, you get hooked. That’s what I experienced when I finished watching the first episode of this show.

Be it relationships, food, careers, friends or even basic morals, ‘Master of None’ manages to explore all of that in a way that stimulates your thoughts and feelings. It’s safe to say that it has got me thinking and I cannot wait for the next season to see what it explores. Now if you’ll excuse me, I am going to go place an order for ‘Modern Romance’ by Aziz Ansari himself, just out of curiosity for a new perspective.

master-if-none

Leave a Reply

